Dodgers’ Kershaw Expected To Win Third NL Cy Young Award

Go #Dodgers!

CBS Los Angeles

LOS ANGELES ( — Will it be three for Clayton Kershaw?

The Dodgers’ southpaw and two-time National League Cy Young Award winner was expected to be the frontrunner for the 2014 season honor, which was scheduled to be announced Monday afternoon.

Last season, Kershaw became the first pitcher ever to win four consecutive Major League Baseball ERA titles, posting a career-best 1.77 ERA and an MLB-leading 21 wins, which tied his career high in 2011.

Kershaw’s .875 winning percentage (21-3) was also an MLB best and was the second-highest mark by a Dodger behind only Preacher Roe, who went 22-3 in 1951.

He was among four starters on the Dodgers roster with 13 or more wins, along with Zack Greinke, Hyun-Jin Ryu and Dan Haren.

Kershaw also joined Sandy Koufax as the only other Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher to record a sub-2.00 ERA season. Koufax hit the mark in 1963…

View original post 76 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s