Mistreating Blacks

myjoyteamblog

A “Found Poem”

By Tyrah Lacy

I was sent off to the kitchen to eat 
I slept in a shed behind his house 
I ate alone, I didn’t want to sit at his table 
I learned what I was sent to learn 
He sent Robert to Savannah and me to a colored school in Macon 
Ray took his hand and shooed me away 
As if i were a fly 
You hit a white man? 
You gonna let a black man talk to you like that ? 
You watch your mouth 
Now strip down so I can whip you

(Found Poems are found by choosing powerful lines from some source like a novel.  Tyrah’s poem comes from writing she found in our novel, The Land)

View original post

Leave a Reply

